Adamant Champion

Among some knights and clerics, there have always been an elite few who stand above the rest. They are the elect, the Adamant Champions. Each is gifted with the knowledge to forge a sacred sword by their own hands, as their god forged his own mighty blade. Each wields his or her sword in honor and valor, for the glory of the mortal peoples.

Prerequisite(s): To gain levels as an adamant champion, you must meet the following requirements (in addition to the multiclassing prerequisites for any classes you have):

  • Strength 13, Wisdom 13, and Charisma 13. Adamant champions must be strong, wise, and pure of purpose.
  • Proficiency in smith’s tools. As their patron is a smith, so too are his champions.
  • Channel Divinity feature. You must have the Channel Divinity class feature to gain levels as an adamant champion.
  • Character level 11th. You must already be an 11th-level character before you can gain adamant champion levels.

Class Features

As an adamant champion, you gain the following class features.

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d10 per adamant champion level
Hit Points per Level: 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitution modifier per adamant champion level


Weapons: Longsword


The adamant champion prestige class grants you a special sword at 1st level (see below).

Table: The Adamant Champion
Level Features Spell Slots per Spell Level
1st 2nd
1st Champion’s Sword
2nd Iron Blessing, Spellcasting 2
3rd Silver Blessing 3
4th Gold Blessing 3
5th Mithril Blessing 4 2

Champion’s Sword

At 1st level, you forge a magic longsword from a special metal (usually a piece of mithril from the legendary Mithril Golem, though other materials have been used). You have a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this weapon, and you can use it as a holy symbol.

At 2nd level, your sword knows your hand and returns to it willingly. You can’t be disarmed of the weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon your sword as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand.

At 3rd level, your sword is considered adamantine and silver.

At 4th level, you can use a bonus action to cause flames to erupt from the blade of your sword. These flames shed bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. While the sword is ablaze, it deals an extra 1d8 fire damage to any target it hits. The flames last until you use a bonus action to speak the command word again or until you drop or sheathe the sword.

At 5th level, your bonus to attack and damage rolls made with your champion’s sword increases to +2. Further, you can use an action to expend a use of your Channel Divinity and imbue the sword with positive energy. For 1 minute, you add your Charisma modifier to attack rolls made with the sword (minimum bonus of +1), and it deals an extra 1d8 radiant damage to any creature you hit with it (2d8 to fiends, titanspawn, and undead).

Iron Blessing

At 2nd level, Corean’s blessing grants you the gift of skill at any craft. Your proficiency bonus is doubled if you are using a tool with which you have proficiency.


Also at 2nd level, you have learned to draw on divine magic through meditation and prayer to cast spells as a paladin does.

Preparing and Casting Spells. The Adamant Champion table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells. To cast one of your paladin spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher.

You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

You prepare the list of paladin spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the paladin spell list. When you do so, choose a number of paladin spells equal to your Charisma modifier + half your adamant champion level, rounded down (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

For example, if you are a 5th-level adamant champion, you have four 1st-level and two 2nd-level spell slots. With a Charisma of 14, your list of prepared spells can include four spells of 1st or 2nd level, in any combination. If you prepare the 1st-level spell cure wounds, you can cast it using a 1st-level or a 2ndlevel slot. Casting the spell doesn’t remove it from your list of prepared spells.

You can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest. Preparing a new list of paladin spells requires time spent in prayer and meditation: at least 1 minute per spell level for each spell on your list.

Spellcasting Ability. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your paladin spells, since their power derives from the strength of your convictions. You use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a paladin spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Spellcasting Focus. You can use a holy symbol or your Champion’s Sword as a spellcasting focus for your paladin spells.

Multiclassing. You add half of your levels in the adamant champion class when determining your total spell slots.

Silver Blessing

Starting at 3rd level, you have advantage on saving throws made against the attacks or spells of elementals, fey, fiends, or titanspawn.

Gold Blessing

At 4th level, you can add your Charisma modifier to any magical healing that occurs within 30 feet of you.

Mithril Blessing

Starting at 5th level, when you hold your champion’s sword, it creates an aura in a 10-foot radius around you. You and all creatures friendly to you in the aura have advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Scarred Lands Player’s Guide © 2016 Onyx Path Publishing Authors: Bill Ashbless, Jason Bolte, Chris Cowger, Adam Eichelberger, Alain Giorla, Nathan Knaack, Chris Sims, Eddy Webb

scroll to top