Although the first spellbows were elves, archers of any race may follow this path. Some devotees of this discipline are clerics or rangers, while others are militant mages or spell-using warriors with little or no ranger training prior to learning the way of the spellbow. Spellcasters of virtually any stripe might take levels in this class.

A spellbow combines skill at archery with skill at magic. Capable of imbuing magical effects into her arrows, a spellbow is a dangerous adversary.

Prerequisite(s): To gain levels as a spellbow, you must meet the following requirements (in addition to the multiclassing prerequisites for any classes you have):

  • Dexterity 13 and Wisdom 13. Spellbows must have good hand-eye coordination and keen perception.
  • Proficiency with the longbow. A spellbow must be a skilled archer.
  • Spellcasting class feature. To become a spellbow, you must be able to cast spells.
  • Character level 5th. You must already be a 5th-level character before you can gain spellbow levels.
  • Archery Expertise. To be trained as a spellbow, you must first earn the regard of an experienced spellbow willing to teach you. Perhaps you gain repute by competing in and winning a noteworthy archery competition, or you become known for your skill in battle. Whatever your path, you must draw attention to yourself as both an archer and a spellcaster, and then you must submit to a teacher willing to take you on as a pupil.

Class Features

As a spellbow, you gain the following class features.

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d10 per spellbow level
Hit Points per Level: 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitution modifier per spellbow level


Skills: Choose any one of Arcana, Nature, or Survival


At 1st level, you learn to cast ranger spells through your training in the traditional ways of the spellbow.

Spell Slots. The Spellbow table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest. For example, if you know the 1st-level spell hunter’s mark and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast hunter’s mark using either slot.

Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher. You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the ranger spell list. The Spells Known column of the Spellbow table shows when you learn more ranger spells of your choice. When you reach 4th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level. Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the ranger spells you know and replace it with another spell from the ranger spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Spellcasting Ability. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your ranger spells, since your magic draws on your attunement to nature. You use your Wisdom whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Wisdom modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a ranger spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Multiclassing. You add half of your levels in the spellbow class when determining your total spell slots.

Table: The Spellbow
Level Features Spells Known Spell Slots per Spell Level
1st 2nd
1st Spellcasting, Summon Arrows 2 2
2nd Magic Arrows 3 3
3rd Imbue Arrow 3 3
4th Energy Arrows 4 4 2

Summon Arrows

Also at 1st level, as a bonus action, you can conjure up to three nonmagical arrows (or other ammunition). The conjured ammunition lasts for 1 round and then disappears.

Once you reach 3rd level, you no longer need to use a bonus action to summon ammunition. Whenever you draw your bow (or load your crossbow), a nonmagical arrow or bolt appears on the string, ready to fire.

Magic Arrows

Upon reaching 2nd level, nonmagical ammunition you fire is considered to be magical.

Imbue Arrow

Also starting at 3rd level, you can place a spell into a piece of ammunition and then fire it, causing the spell to be released upon impact. To be imbued, a spell must be 1st level or higher, but no higher than 4th level. It must have a casting time of 1 action and must affect an area or have a range of touch. If the spell requires concentration, you must still maintain concentration on it as usual.

As an action, you make a ranged weapon attack, expending an appropriate spell slot and casting the desired spell as part of the same action. If you target an empty space, you need not make an attack roll; the spell takes effect from that square as if you had cast the spell targeting that location. If you target a creature, you must make a ranged attack roll with your bow. (If the spell normally requires a spell attack roll, you use your weapon attack roll instead.) If you hit, the creature takes damage as normal, and then the spell takes effect, centered on the target. If the spell affects an area, it spreads outward from the target, affecting all eligible creatures within its area. If the spell normally extends outward from a point, then you choose a point within the target’s space.

If the arrow misses, the spell is lost.

Energy Arrows

At 4th level, you learn to infuse your ranged attacks with harmful elemental energy. Choose one of the following damage types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder. When you hit a creature with a ranged weapon attack using a bow or crossbow, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d6 energy damage of that type to the target. When you complete a short or long rest, you can choose a new energy type. Your bow attacks deal damage of that type until you choose a new type.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Scarred Lands Player’s Guide © 2016 Onyx Path Publishing Authors: Bill Ashbless, Jason Bolte, Chris Cowger, Adam Eichelberger, Alain Giorla, Nathan Knaack, Chris Sims, Eddy Webb

scroll to top