5e SRD >Classes >Wizard >Wizard Archetypes >

Arcane Specialist

By convention, magic is classified into eight schools: abjuration, which defends and protects; conjuration, which summons creatures or transports them to another location; divination, which reveals things, be it about the future, past, or present; enchantment, which influences minds; evocation, which calls upon destructive powers and energies; illusion, which toys with senses and appearances; necromancy, which blurs the border between life and death; and transmutation, which alters the aspect and nature of things.

The attitude a wizard has toward the various schools of magic depends on the tradition they follow. Each tradition has its own training methods and theories. The infinite variety of the aspects of magic leads those who study it to adhere to a specialty, expressing their predilection for one of its forms.

An arcane specialist is a wizard who decides to specialize in one of the eight schools of magic. A 1st-level wizard is called a Novice. Starting from 2nd level, a wizard acquires a status and carries the name of their specialty: Abjurer, Conjurer, Diviner, Enchanter, Evoker, Illusionist, Necromancer, or Transmuter. Variations of these titles may exist depending on the civilization, and usually carry respect and power. High-level specialists often become the advisors of the mighty, if not powers behind the throne. However, some wizards have to hide their title or specialty, necromancers being a prime example.

Specialized Knowledge

Starting at 2nd level, you must choose your specialization school. The gold and time you must spend to copy a spell of your chosen school into your spellbook is halved.

Specialized Exoticism

At 2nd level, you become able to study and master spells of your school that are not wizard spells. Every time you get to add a new spell to your spellbook, you can select it from another class’s list, on the condition that it is from your chosen school (see Grimoire). You can then prepare and cast this spell like any other spell of your chosen school included in your spellbook.

Additionally, you can cast spells of your chosen school from scrolls, and copy a scroll’s spell into your spellbook even if it is not a wizard spell.

Frugal Casting

Beginning at 6th level, when you cast a spell of your chosen school with a casting time of 1 action, you can do so with a spell slot one level below that of the spell. The spell is still considered to be cast at its normal level. You cannot use this feature to cast a spell at a higher level than its lowest one-this is the purview of the 14th-level feature Excellent Casting.

Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.

If your chosen school is Evocation, you can cast fireball (a 3rd-level spell) by spending a 2nd-level slot. It is still considered a 3rd-level spell.

Efficient Casting

Starting at 10th level, you can use a bonus action to cast a spell of your chosen school with a casting time of 1 action. All rules related to spells with a casting time of 1 bonus action apply (see Grimoire).

Alternatively, you can cast any spell of your chosen school included in your spellbook as a ritual, following the ritual casting rules. However, should the ritual casting of a spell seem impossible or absurd, your GM can decide to veto the use of this feature for this particular spell.

Once you have used either of these two features, you can’t use Efficient Casting again until you finish a long rest.

Excellent Casting

Beginning at 14th level, when you cast a spell of your chosen school, it is considered to be cast one level higher than the spell slot used.

If your chosen school is illusion and you cast invisibility with a 2nd-level spell slot, the spell is cast at 3rd level, which means that you can target one additional creature.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Fateforge Role-Playing Game Adventurers Core Rulebook Copyright © 2019 Studio Agate Joëlle ‘Iris’ Deschamp