Death Domain

Clerics of death worship gods that oversee the end of life, the final hours, and often the afterlife as well. Death comes in many ways, through accident and age, blade and bludgeon, disease and disorder. However, death is part of the natural order, not necessarily evil.

Death Domain Spells
Cleric Level Spells
1st false life, ray of sickness
3rd gentle repose, ray of enfeeblement
5th speak with dead, vampiric touch
7th banishment, blight
9th antilife shell, raise dead

Mark of Death

With a look you can mark a creature for death. As an action, you may give one creature you can see that is within 30 feet of you the Mark of Death. The mark lasts until you are rendered unconscious, mark a different creature, or the marked creature dies. While suffering from your Mark of Death, the marked creature must succeed at a Wisdom saving throw at the start of its turn or suffer your Wisdom modifier in necrotic damage. You may use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier plus your proficiency bonus, and regain uses following a long rest.

Channel Divinity: Aura of Death

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to create a field of death and decay.

As an action, you present your holy symbol and invoke your deity’s name. All creatures in a 15-foot cone originating from you must succeed at a Constitution saving throw or suffer 1d8 necrotic damage. Also, those who fail their save may not regain hit points until the end of your next turn.

Shared Death

Beginning at 6th level, when you cause necrotic damage to a target, you must cause another creature that you can see within 15 feet of the target to suffer 1d8 necrotic damage as well. Furthermore, any creature you kill cannot be raised as undead.

Death’s Door

At 8th level, you gain the ability to alter the progress of creatures you see toward death. If you see a creature within 30 feet drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, as a reaction, you may either cause the creature instead to drop to 1 hit point, or cause the creature to suffer a death saving throw failure. You cannot use this feature to cause a creature to fail more than one death saving throw after it drops to 0 hit points.

You can use this feature a number of time equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Harvest Death

Starting at 17th level, you can use your action to absorb the energy of death for one minute. If any creature dies within 60 feet of you during this time, you regain a spell slot of a level equal to one-fourth of the creature’s number of Hit Dice, minimum of 1st-level.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Necropolis, © 2021, Necromancer Games; Author Mark Greenberg, Bill Webb

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page