Death Domain

Deities of death are often lords of the underworld and other planes where the souls of deceased mortals reside. Every culture has at least one deity of death, such as Hel, Arawn, Anubis, Hades, Anat, Mot, and Orcus. Many of these gods are evil or have malicious aspects, but some are neutral and attempt to conduct themselves in a fair and judicious manner. Priestesses who follow death gods are typically morbid and gloomy but can also be dramatic at times.

Death Domain Spells
Priestess Level Spells
1st False life, inflict wounds
3rd Blindness/deafness, ray of enfeeblement
5th Speak with dead, vampiric touch
7th Blight, soul smite
9th Contagion, reincarnate

Bonus Proficiency

When you choose this domain at 1st level, you gain proficiency with Poisoner’s kits.

Necromantic Rebuke

Beginning at 1st level, you can discharge the necromantic power infused within you, targeting a creature within 5 feet that you can see. When that creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to cause the creature to make a Constitution saving throw. The creature takes 2d8 necrotic damage on a failed saving throw, and half as much damage on a successful one. You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier (a minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Channel Divinity: Drain Life

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to drain the life from creatures. As an action, you present your holy symbol and evoke negative energy that can drain a number of hit points equal to five times your priestess (or cleric) level.

Choose any creatures within 30 feet of you, and divide those hit points among them. This feature can drain a creature to no less than one hit point. You can’t use this feature on an undead or a construct.

Vampiric Healing

Beginning at 6th level, the life draining spells you cast on others heal you. When you cast a spell of 1st level or higher that drains hit points from a creature (such as inflict wounds), you regain hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with divine energy. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

Deathly Shadows

Beginning at 17th level, you can use an action to generate an aura of magical darkness that persists for 1 minute or until you dismiss it. Starting and ending the aura both require an action. The magical aura has a 60-foot radius and it creates an area of dim light for 30 feet beyond that. Your enemies within this magical darkness have disadvantage on saving throws against spells that deal necrotic damage.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Amazon Vs Valkyries: Domains, Copyright 2020, Bloodstone Press; Author: L.J. Ogre

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page