Death Domain

Clerics of death worship gods that oversee the end of life, the final hours, and often the afterlife as well. Death comes in many ways, through accident and age, blade and bludgeon, disease and disorder. To these followers of the Final Call, the end is always nigh, and if not, they will bring in swiftly on muffled wings. Despite this morbidity, death is part of the natural order and many clerics of death do not see themselves as harbingers of evil, but necessary aspects of the universe.

Death Domain Spells
Cleric Level Spells
1st false life, magic missile
3rd gentle repose, magic weapon
5th speak with dead, spirit guardians
7th banishment, blight
9th antilife shell, contagion

Mark of Death

With a look you can mark a creature for death. As an action, you may give one creature you can see that is within 30 feet of you the mark of death. The mark lasts until you are rendered unconscious, mark a different creature, or the marked creature dies. While suffering from your mark of death, the marked creature must succeed at a Wisdom save at the start of its turn or suffer your Wisdom modifier in necrotic damage. You may use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier plus your proficiency bonus, and regain uses following a long rest.

Channel Divinity: Aura of Death

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to create a field of death and decay.

As an action, you present your holy symbol and evoke your deity’s name. All creatures in a 15-foot cone originating from you must succeed at a Constitution save or suffer 1d8 necrotic damage. Also, those who fail their save may not regain hit points until the end of your next turn.

Shared Death

Beginning at 6th level, when you cause necrotic damage to a target you must cause another creature that you can see within 15 feet of the target to suffer 1d8 necrotic damage as well. Furthermore, any creature you kill cannot be raised as undead.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon’s strikes with divine energy. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

Channel Divinity: Harvest Death

Starting at 17th level, you can use your Channel Divinity to absorb the energy of death.

As an action, you present your holy symbol and evoke your deity’s name. For the next minute, when a creature dies within 30 feet of you, you may harvest part of their soul as it leaves their body. You are not destroying this soul fragment, it is going to move on to its final reward, but you harness its passing to recharge your spells. When you harvest a soul you regain a spell slot of a level no greater than a quarter of its hit dice.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

The Lost Lands World Setting: 5th Edition Rules Addendum, © 2020, Frog God Games; Author Kenneth Spencer

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page