Oath of Awakening

The most well-known paladins of the Mythos are champion adventurers both in the Dreamlands and the waking world, striving while awake to match or do better than their dreams. Sometimes called Dream Warriors, silver knights, or seekers of the Silver Key, paladins who swear this oath channel a mythic dream-self of great power and courage as they adventure in the waking world.

Tenets of Awakening

The tenets of the Oath of Awakening are deeply personal to each paladin, but they tend to follow certain related themes.

Discovery. Knowledge is power. The unknown danger goes unstopped.

Prudence. Disaster or madness awaits those who don’t look before they leap. Know when to rush in and when escape is necessary for you to fight another day.

Courage. Don’t let prudence stand in the way of pushing back the darkness. When the time comes, act without reservation.

Wonder. Find the beauty and marvels of the world. Savor and preserve them, for they nourish those haunted by the darkness.

Oath Spells

You gain oath spells at the paladin levels listed.

Oath of Awakening Spells
Paladin Level Spells
3rd bless, sleep
5th aid, dream guide
9th daylight, fear
13th death ward, freedom of movement
17th dispel evil and good, dream

Channel Divinity

When you take this oath at 3rd level, you gain the following two Channel Divinity options.

Dreamed Destiny. When you fail on a saving throw or miss with an attack roll, you can invoke your dream identity using your Channel Divinity as a bonus action on your turn; if it is not your turn, you may use this feature as your reaction. When you do, you roll a d6 and add the number rolled to your saving throw or attack roll, which might make you succeed or hit rather than fail or miss. At 10th level, the die becomes a d8. At 15th level, the die becomes a d10. At 18th level, the die becomes a d12.

Psychic Resonance. Your two selves operating in unison create a powerful psychic resonance. As an action, you unleash this resonance to overwhelm a foe’s mind using your Channel Divinity. The target must be a creature within 10 feet that you can see. The creature takes 2d6 psychic damage and must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or it is blinded. At the end of each of its turns, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the condition on a success.

Aura of Clarity

Starting at 7th level, you and creatures within 10 feet have resistance to psychic damage and advantage on saving throws against magical effects that would incapacitate them, knock them unconscious, or cause their actions to be determined randomly or controlled by the GM such as confusion or symbol (insanity). This aura functions only while you are conscious.

At 18th level, the range of this aura increases to 30 feet.

Stalwart Voyager

Starting at 15th level, whenever you are subject to a spell or effect that allows you a saving throw for a partial effect, you are completely unaffected on a successful save.

Dreamed Ideal

At 20th level, you realize your full potential as a Dreamlands champion, appearing larger-than-life and subtly altering your environment in cosmetic ways to suit the narrative of your dream-self. As an action, you can enter a trance that allows you to alter reality more easily to suit your ideals. For 10 minutes, you gain the following benefits:

  • You can cast a paladin spell with a casting time of 1 action as a bonus action.
  • Whenever an enemy perceives you from within 60 feet during combat, it is frightened unless it succeeds on a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. At the end of each frightened creature’s turn, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the frightened condition on itself on a success. When a creature succeeds on its saving throw, it becomes immune to this frightened condition for 24 hours.

Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Sandy Petersen’s Cthulhu Mythos, © 2018, Petersen Games; Authors: Sandy Petersen, David N. Ross, James Jacobs, Arthur Petersen, Ian Starcher.