Oath of Charity

The Oath of Charity requires the paladin to follow a path of humility and service to others, placing the perils of others before petty vendettas and glorious crusades. Paladins to devote themselves to charity believe that poverty and desperation is the fertile soil from which the seeds of evil are sown, and so they seek wage war not against physical evil but the very idea of it, hoping that through their efforts no wickedness will ever take root within the hearts of others.

Charitable paladins are expected to give freely and without judgment, so long as their assistance doesn’t further the cause of evil. This is a difficult line to walk, as it requires setting aside personal biases in favor of a wholistic view that ensures that as many people as possible are treated with kindness and dignity. One must understand that no matter how hard one tries, the most important decisions seldom leave everyone happy with the outcome. What matters more than mere happiness is equity and equality.

Paladin Level Feature
3rd Oath Spells, Channel Divinity
7th Aura of Charity (10 ft.)
15th Selfless Acts
18th Aura of Charity (30 ft.)
20th Blessed Martyr

Oath Spells

You gain oath spells at the paladin levels listed in the Oath of Charity Spells table. See the Sacred Oath class feature for how oath spells work.

Paladin Level Spells
3rd cure wounds, goodberry
7th aid, warding bond
15th mass healing word, revivify
18th aura of life, freedom of movement
20th mass cure wounds, raise dead

Channel Divinity

When you take this oath at 3rd level, you gain the following two Channel Divinity options.

Share the Pain. You can use your Channel Divinity to heal the wounds of others. As an action, you can choose any creatures within 30 feet. You establish a temporary commune with those creatures. Each creature within the commune can donate any number of hit points, up to their current total. The donating creature loses hit points equal to the amount they donated, then divides those donated hit points among other members of the commune. Other creatures cannot donate hit points to you, but you can donate your hit points to others.

Shoulder the Burden. You can use your Channel Divinity to ease the suffering of another for a time. As an action, you can touch a creature and choose one of the following conditions that the touched creature has: blinded, deafened, paralyzed, poisoned. That condition is suppressed for 1 hour, during which time you gain the chosen condition. You cannot choose a condition that you are immune to. For the purpose of removing the condition, you are treated as if you had gotten it in the same way as the creature. For example, if the target is blinded because their eyes are ruined, this feature would transfer your eyes to the creature while their ruined eyes are transferred to you. As a result, effects that could not end the condition for the creature cannot end it for you, but if the condition ends for you it does not return to the creature and time you spend afflicted with the chosen condition counts against the condition’s duration for the creature.

Aura of Charity

Starting at 7th level, a holy presence allows you to shoulder your allies’ burden. You can use a bonus action to choose any number of creatures within 10 feet of you. As long as you’re conscious, those creatures gain resistance to all damage but you also take any damage that creature takes after applying their resistance. This feature doesn’t transfer any other effects that might accompany the damage, and this damage can’t be reduced in any way.

At 18th level, the range of this aura increases to 30 feet.

Selfless Acts

Starting at 15th level, your ability to share your allies’ pain and shoulder their burdens improves. You can use your channel divinity’s share the pain option as a reaction whenever you or a creature within 30 feet takes damage. Additionally, when you use your channel divinity’s shoulder the burden option, you can reduce the target’s exhaustion level by one, increasing your exhaustion level by one, or suppress any condition that greater restoration can end by imposing that condition on yourself. You can choose to permanently shoulder any such burden, in which case you remain affected by the condition or effect for the rest of its duration or until it ends.

Blessed Martyr

At 20th level, you become an avatar of self-sacrifice, which gives you two benefits.

  • Whenever a creature within 10 feet of you takes damage, you can grant them resistance to all damage. If you do, you take damage equal to the amount this resistance prevented.
  • You can use the shoulder the burden channel divinity option on a dead creature. When you do, that creature is returned to life, acting as resurrection except you don’t need a component. In exchange, you die and cannot be restored to life except by divine intervention.
Section 15: Copyright Notice

5e Files: Kitsune © 2020, Everybody Games; Authors: Alexander Augunas.