Path of the War Shaman

The Path of the War Shaman is an ancient one, said to have first been practiced by long-forgotten warrior-druids.

Barbarians who follow this primal path have spellcasting ability to augment their considerable combat prowess. Like druids, war shamans may be shunned in some societies or by certain worshipers of the gods, who consider all titan worship anathema.


When you choose this path at 3rd level, you gain the ability to cast a limited selection of druid spells. While you cannot cast spells while raging, you can maintain concentration on druid spells while doing so.

For multiclassing, if you have the Spellcasting feature from another class, add a third of your barbarian levels to any other spellcasting class levels to determine your total spell slots.

  • Cantrips: You learn two cantrips of your choice from the druid spell list. You learn an additional druid cantrip at 11th level.
  • Spell Slots: The War Shaman Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.
  • Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher: You know three 1st-level druid spells of your choice. The Spells Known column on the War Shaman Spellcasting table shows when you learn new druid spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 13th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st, 2nd, or 3rd level. Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one druid spell you already know with another spell of the same level from the druid spell list.
  • Spellcasting Ability: Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your druid spells. You use Wisdom whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Wisdom modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a druid spell you cast, or when you make an attack roll with one.
  • Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier
  • Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier
Barbarian Level Cantrips Known Spells Known Spell Slots Per Spell Level
1st 2nd 3rd 4th
3rd 2 3 2
4th 2 4 3
5th 2 4 3
6th 2 4 3
7th 2 5 4 2
8th 2 6 4 2
9th 2 6 4 2
10th 2 7 4 3
11th 3 8 4 3
12th 3 8 4 3
13th 3 9 4 3 2
14th 3 10 4 3 2
15th 3 10 4 3 2
16th 3 11 4 3 3
17th 3 11 4 3 3
18th 3 11 4 3 3
19th 3 12 4 3 3 1
20th 3 13 4 3 3 1

Share Rage

Starting at 6th level, as part of the same bonus action you use to enter a rage, you can expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher. If you do so, choose a willing creature you can see within 30 feet of you. Provided your target can see or hear you, and it isn’t wearing heavy armor, it also rages. It gains the effects of the Rage feature, including your Rage Damage bonus, for as long as your rage lasts. The target’s rage can also end early for any of the reasons detailed in the Rage feature, such as the target falling unconscious or failing to attack a hostile creature. The target can also use a bonus action to end its rage early.


At 10th level, you can cast druid spells while raging. The range of your Share Rage feature increases to 60 feet.


Starting at 14th level, if you expend a spell slot of 2nd level or higher when you use Share Rage, you can choose one additional target for each slot level above 1st.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Scarred Lands Player’s Guide © 2016 Onyx Path Publishing Authors: Bill Ashbless, Jason Bolte, Chris Cowger, Adam Eichelberger, Alain Giorla, Nathan Knaack, Chris Sims, Eddy Webb