Primal Path of The Ending

When all semblance of order is gone from the world, the only sense is chaos. When peace is but a distant memory of the old and dying, the only way is violence. A barbarian‘s rage embodies the end times as no other creature can, and barbarians that follow the Primal Path of the Ending accept and welcome it, channeling the Apocalypse to lay waste to all in their path.


Starting when you choose this path at 3rd level, your rage allows you to express the brutality of the apocalypse through the casting of spells.

You can only cast the spells you gain from this feature while raging. Your rage does not end early if you cast a sorcerer spell on your turn.

Spell Slots. The Path of the Ending Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest. For example, if you know the 1st-level spell burning hands and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast burning hands using either slot.

Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher You know two 1st-level sorcerer spells of your choice, which you must choose from the evocation and necromancy spells on the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of the Path of the Ending Spellcasting table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be an evocation or necromancy spell of your choice, and must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 7th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.

Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the sorcerer spells you know with another spell of your choice from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots and be an evocation or necromancy spell.

Spellcasting Ability Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your sorcerer spells, since the power of your magic relies on your ability to project your will into the world. You use your Wisdom whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Wisdom modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a sorcerer spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Barbarian Level Spells Known Spell Slots Per Spell Level
1st 2nd 3rd 4th
3rd 2 2
4th 3 3
5th 3 3
6th 3 3
7th 4 4 2
8th 4 4 2
9th 5 4 2
10th 5 4 3
11th 6 4 3
12th 6 4 3
13th 7 4 3 2
14th 7 4 3 2
15th 8 4 3 2
16th 8 4 3 3
17th 9 4 3 3
18th 9 4 3 3
19th 10 4 3 3 1
20th 10 4 3 3 1

Kill The World

At 3rd level, you gain a special unarmed strike attack as you unleash a fraction the world-ending destruction you have witnessed. Choose cold, fire, or lightning damage. Your unarmed strike deals damage of that type equal to 1d4 + your Strength modifier, and counts as a melee weapon attack for the purposes of your barbarian class features.

When you reach 8th and 14th level, you can choose one additional damage type. When you make an unarmed attack, you can use any damage type from the damage types you have chosen as part of this feature.

The elemental damage of your unarmed strike increases to ld6 at 8th level, ld8 at 14th level, and 1d10 at 20th level.

Fear Not The Vom

Beginning at 6th level, you embody the inevitable momentum of Armageddon. You cannot be frightened while raging. If you are frightened when you enter your rage, the effect is suspended for the duration of the rage.

Endstorm Soul

Starting at 10th level, the primal forces of destruction have noted your acceptance, and begin to embrace you as one of their own. You can speak and understand Primordial, and have resistance to your choice of cold, fire, or lighting damage. You may change this choice whenever you finish a long rest.

I Am Become Death

At 14th level, you become an avatar of the end of the world. When you use a bonus action to begin your rage, you can wreathe yourself in an aura of one of the following: freezing ice, arcing lightning, or raging fire. While your rage is active, you gain the following benefits:

  • You are immune to damage of the type.
  • Any creature that moves within 5 feet of you for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there takes ldl0 damage of that type.
  • Your melee attacks deal an extra 2d8 damage of that type, and their reach increases to 15 feet.

When your rage ends, so does this effect, and you gain two levels of exhaustion. Once you reach 19th level, you only gain one level of exhaustion from this feature.

You regain the use of this feature when you finish a long rest.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Deadworlds: A Post-Apocalyptic Expansion for the World's Greatest Roleplaying Game Copyright 2017 PondStrider Games. Author George Sutherland Howard

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page