The gods of protection listen to those in need. Clerics who follow an entire pantheon in which at least one god includes this domain may take this as their own divine domain.

Table: Protection Domain Spells
Cleric Level Spells
1st protection from evil and good, shield
3rd moonbeam, protection from poison
5th protection from energy, wind wall
7th faithful hound, fire shield
9th wall of force, wall of stone

Bonus Proficiencies

At 1st level, you gain proficiency with martial weapons and heavy armor.

Channel Divinity: Righteous Save

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to give advantage on one saving throw to any ally within 30 ft. as a reaction to their being about to make a saving throw.


Also at 2nd level, when a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 ft. of you, you can use your reaction to impose a disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.

Channel Divinity: Righteous Protection

At 6th level, you can use your Channel Divinity to cause all critical hits against you and your allies within 60 ft. to deal normal damage instead of critical damage.

Divine Shielding

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your shield with divine power—a blessing from your deity. Your castings of shield and shield of faith spells do not consume a spell slot. Shield of faith must still be prepared to be used.

Elemental Protection

Once you reach 17th level, you gain resistance to one damage type of your choice: acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Gods and Icons, Copyright 2016, Dread Unicorn Games; Authors: John WS Marvin, Vanessa Rose Phin, Connor W. Marvin.