Raiders specialize in asymmetric warfare. They operate deep behind enemy lines, conducting ambushes, raids, and sabotage. To qualify for membership in these units a fighter must pass strenuous tests of survival, stealth, and endurance.

Raiders are a special type of soldier, skilled at delivering crippling attacks from the shadows. They are calculating, rugged, and patient. Their methods strike fear into all other soldiers. All militaries have at least a small group of elite scout/snipers or rangers who serve as the army’s eyes and ears. Some specialize in commando-style raids behind enemy lines. The more famous Raiders include the Germanic Ghost Warriors, the Egyptian Medjay, and the Spartan Krypteia. Raiders value secrecy and stealth. They use distractions, sabotage, and assassination to hamper and confound their enemies.

Bonus Proficiency

Starting at 3rd level, you gain proficiency with the two of the following skills: Deception, Stealth, or Perception. You also learn a secret code language of hand signals and bird-like calls. Finally, dim light doesn’t impose disadvantage to your perception checks relying on sight.


The Raider is expected to eliminate guards and sentries in a flash. Beginning at 3rd level, if you are undetected by a creature that you are attacking with a melee weapon, that creature is surprised and must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier) or fall prone.

Ambush and Sabotage

Starting at 7th level, you’re able to strike with your weapons with particular cunning. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d8 damage to one creature you hit with an Attack if you have advantage on the Attack roll. This extra damage can also be inflicted on structures and objects like walls, wagons, doors, or siege engines. You must spend at least 10 minutes studying the object before you perform your first attack against it.

This damage increases to 2d8 at the 18th level.

No Mercy

At the 15th level, you are all left of mercy to give. If you are within 5-feet from a creature that is suffering a debilitating condition you may make an attack against that creature as a bonus action. That attack causes extra damage equal to your Dexterity or Charisma modifier, whichever is higher. The debilitating conditions are: Blinded, Charmed, Deafened, Frightened, Grappled, Incapacitated, Paralyzed, Petrified, Poisoned, Prone, Restrained, Stunned, Unconscious, and any level of Exhaustion.

Ghost Killer

At 18th level you have ascended to the pantheon of myth and legend. The breeze might scare your foe, thinking it is you waiting for them in the shade. If you hit a creature undetected, you may move half of your Speed and perform a Hide action as part of the successful attack.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Fighter Archetypes, Guard, Mercenary, Raider, Copyright 2021, Bloodstone Press

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page