Reconnaissance Scout

The ‘verse is harsh, alien, and above all, unspeakably vast, and reconnaissance rangers task themselves with being the first to explore it. When a ship comes out of a blind void jump, it’s far more likely to find itself orbiting a previously-undiscovered planet or star system than it is to be remotely near civilization. This is the time for a landing party.

Recon rangers lead landing parties through harsh, unfamiliar territories, derelict spacecraft, and deadly warzones. They are experts in identifying danger before it strikes and use every tool available to them to survive.

Bonus Proficiencies

When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you gain proficiency with the Piloting skill.

Recon Drone

At 3rd level, you gain a drone controller magic item linked to a recon drone. You can use your action to command this drone to fly to its maximum altitude and look out for danger, granting you advantage on initiative rolls against threats that the drone detects. Your drone remains in lookout mode, hovering high above you, until you command it to return to you.

Dodge Roll

Beginning at 7th level, you can use your bonus action to move up to 15 feet. This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks, ignores difficult terrain, and can move you through hostile creature’s spaces, as long as you do not end your movement there. You can use this ability a number of times equal to your Dexterity modifier, and regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Piercing Blast

At 11th level, you can use your action to focus a blaster’s shots to penetrate through its targets. You fire a 5-foot wide energetic blast, extending in a line out to the normal range of your blaster in a direction that you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw (DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Dexterity modifier). A creature takes the blaster’s damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

Energetic Body Armor

By 15th level, you wear an advanced shielding system which protects you from harm. Your shield grants you resistance to one of the following damage types of your choice: cold, fire, lightning, necrotic, or radiant. You can change this selection as a bonus action.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Dark Matter Copyright 2019, Mage Hand Press, LLC; authors Michael Holik, Jaron Mortimer, Benjamin Richardson, Matthew Pennell, Jason Sinclair