Runes Domain

Dwarves who know the secrets of the runes turn the traditional dwarven language into a tool of great power. They are most often used to inscribe weapons and armor, although runes can appear on anything that can be carved.

Cleric Level Spells
1st bless, sanctuary
3rd augury, zone of truth
5th beacon of hope, remove curse
7th divination, guardians of faith
9th commune, hallow

Bonus Proficiencies

When you choose this domain at 1st level, you gain proficiency with martial weapons. You also gain proficiency in the History or Persuasion skill (your choice).


At 1st level you unleash the magic of runes by singing to them. You have proficiency in the Performance skill. If you already have proficiency in this skill, you can choose from Deception or Intimidation instead (your choice). In the presence of a rune-inscribed object on your person, the object acts as your divine focus and all your spells only require a somatic component. You must be able to sing to cast your spells.

Secrets of the Runes

At 1st level you learn the power of runes. You begin with two runes and can permanently sacrifice a spell slot to learn more as per the table below.

You can have one rune active for every two cleric levels, as per the table below.

Rune Level Spell Slot Sacrificed
1st 1st
2nd 2nd
6th 3rd
10th 4th
14th 5th
Cleric Level Runes Active
3 1
6 2
9 3
12 4
15 5
18 6
20 7

Channel Divinity: Invoke Authority

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to invoke the power of law. An ally within 30 feet can use their reaction immediately after your action to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see.

Channel Divinity: Divine Fortitude

At 6th level, as a reaction to being hit by an attack, you can use your Channel Divinity to gain resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage (your choice) until the end of your turn. At 14th level you gain immunity to the damage until the end of your turn.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with divine authority. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 psychic damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

Runic Elder

You have achieved the rank of high priest, more commonly referred to as an elder. Only someone in the dwarven community who has attained the greatest of respects can occupy this esteemed office of religious and public service. Starting at 17th level, those who dare to strike you are psychically punished for their audacity. Whenever a creature hits you with an attack, that creature takes psychic damage equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum of 1) if you’re not incapacitated.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

5E RPG: Steampunk Adventures. Copyright 2022, Mal and Tal Enterprises, LLC; Author Michael Tresca.

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page