There’s power, in renouncing. Gifts and offerings are always appreciated, but some deities care as much about them that the act alone become power for the true worshiper. Bearing a permanent scar becomes a sign of attachment, and a receptacle of divine favor. Clerics of the domain of sacrifice channel every voluntarily loss, theirs or others, into a clear request for power, greatness, and luck.

Sacrifice Domain Spells
Level Spells
1st False life, purify food and drink
3rd Blindness/deafness, enhance ability
5th Bestow curse, beacon of hope
7th Blight, death ward
9th Geas, hallow

Ritual of the Honored Offering

Starting at 1st level, as part of a long rest, you can perform a ritual. Choose a number of permanent injures (see sidebar) equal to your Wisdom modifier among any number of creatures you can see. Each participant can choose one of the following benefits for every injury it offered during the ritual:

  • Benefit of Fortune. The recipient can reroll a single ability check, attack roll or saving throw.
  • Benefit of Endurance. As a bonus action, the recipient can spend and roll one of its Hit Die, healing that amount of Hit Points. If one choose this benefit multiple times, it can use multiple dice in a single bonus action.
  • Benefit of Knowledge. The recipient chooses one1st-level spell they do not know nor can prepare. If they take this benefit multiple times, they can learn a higher level spell, but must have spell slots of the appropriate level.

Every benefit lasts until the next long rest.

Bonus Proficiency

At 1st level, you gain proficiency with heavy armors.

Blessed Scars

Starting at 1st level, after you take damage while you are already under your full Hit points, you gain temporary Hit Points equal to your Wisdom modifier, and you add that same amount the next weapon attack and damage roll you make within your next turn.

You can’t benefit from this feature if you already have any amount of temporary Hit Points.

Channel Divinity: Glory of Martyrdom

Starting at 2nd level, you can offer a volunteer’s life on the altar of war. As an action, you or a willing creature you can see reduce all damage taken by 2 (before applying resistances and vulnerabilities), gain advantage on all saving throws, but receive only half the effect of any healing. These effects last 1 minute.

Consecrated Loss

Starting at 6th level, if an ally within 30 ft. that you can see takes damage, you can spend your reaction to grant him the benefits of blessed scars. This ability can’t be use on a creature who already has any amount of temporary Hit Points.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon with divine energy. Once on each of your turns, when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 radiant damage. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

This Pleases the Gods

Starting at 17th level, you can decide to gain advantage or disadvantage on your death saving throws.

As an action, you touch a character that has been restored to life within the last hour. It gains resistance to bludgeoning, piercing and slashing damage from nonmagical weapons and it can lose this benefit as a reaction to negate all the damage from a single instance as soon as it gets hit.

A creature can receive the benefit of This Pleases the Gods only once before completing a long rest.

What is a permanent Injury?

Honor comes from battle and gods grievous wounds please the gods. But what makes an injury eligible for The Ritual of Honored Offering?

As a rule of thumb, any mutilation that hampers the character. Here are some examples:

  • A missing eye, or being blind
  • A missing an ear, or being deaf
  • A missing hand or arm
  • A missing foot or leg
  • A missing nose
  • A disfiguring scar that renders you hideous
  • Suffering a permanent reduction of the number of spell slots available

The GM’s word on what is considered a permanent injury is final, and should allocate appropriate drawbacks depending on the nature of the injury.

If you remove the negative effects of such Injury, by magic or any other mean, you cannot reap the benefit of the Ritual.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Journey To Ragnarok © Michele Paroli 2018