The Spirit domain is one of righteous protection against the most unholy of forces: undeath. It channels the power of Good- and Neutral-aligned deities to guide wayward souls and ghosts into the next plane of existence, helping them leave the material plane. When those spirits are uncooperative, or worse, are evil and malign, adherents of this domain are given the power to punish them and banish them to the depths of the hells or abyss. The Spirit Domain is available to followers of deities that oversee the process of life and death, but see undeath as abhorrent.

Spirit Domain Spells
Cleric Level Spells
1st detect evil and good, searing smite
3rd phantasmal force, see invisibility
5th remove curse, speak with dead
7th banishment, death ward
9th contact other plane, hold monster

Divine Sense

When you choose this domain at 1st level, you gain the paladin’s Divine Sense feature.

Banish Undead

At 2nd level, your Channel Divinity: Turn Undead power is improved. The range of Turn Undead is extended to 60 feet, and the time undead creatures are turned is improved to 1d4 minutes.

Undead Knowledge

At 6th level, you gain the ability to see the undead as they truly are. If you spend at least 1 minute observing or interacting with an undead creature outside of combat, you intuitively know what kind of undead creature it is and how powerful it is compared to you. The Game Master must tell you three of the following of the undead creature’s characteristics: its Armor Class, its hit point total, its highest ability score, its damage vulnerabilities, resistances, or immunities.

Shatter Undead

Starting at 8th level, you can command an undead creature to release its hold on the world in the name of your god. As an action, you can remove all resistances and immunities from any one undead creature that you can see or hear. The undead creature only retains the immunities and resistances it had when it was alive. This effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to your Wisdom modifier. You cannot use this feature again until you complete a short or long rest.

At 14th level, Shatter Undead lasts for a number of rounds equal to 1d4 + your Wisdom modifier.

Past the Veil

By 17th level, you have learned much about the powers of undeath, and are assured in your faith in your deity. Each day, you are immune to a number of points of necrotic damage equal to your cleric level × 5. You regain this amount of necrotic damage immunity after taking a long rest.

These are the unique threats and challenges of a horror-driven fantasy game, and they require a unique kind of hero. This article introduces three new player options for the cleric, paladin, and rogue to combat and drive back the things that go bump in the night. They’re perfect for a horror-themed campaign or one-shot filled with ghosts, vampires, witches, and other Evil-aligned, Halloween-themed monsters, but are versatile enough to use in any fifth edition game.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

ENWorld EN5IDER: We Aren’t Afraid of No Ghosts Copyright 2020, EN Publishing

This is not the complete section 15 entry - see the full license for this page