For those who understand its secrets, the flow of time itself is a powerful source of magical power.

Wizards who strive to master temporal magic view seconds and minutes not merely as a way to measure life span, but as a way of manifesting great and mysterious power.

How to Start: If you’re a wizard who wants to become a timekeeper, you make that decision upon reaching 2nd level, when you are also entitled to choose an arcane tradition. If you decide to follow the path of the timekeeper exclusively, you can forego the selection of an arcane tradition and gain the features of the timekeeper specialty instead. You can also pursue the timekeeper specialty in conjunction with one of the standard arcane traditions.

If you choose to do this, you gain the Savant feature of your chosen school in addition to Temporal Magic Savant (described below). Also at 2nd level, you choose whether to gain the Temporal Points feature (see below) or the 2nd-level feature of your chosen school. Thereafter, at 6th, 10th, and 14th level, you choose between the lowest-level features still available. For instance, an abjurer might select Arcane Ward at 2nd level and Temporal Points at 6th level, followed by either Projected Ward or Extended Magic at 10th level.

Temporal Magic Savant

Beginning when you select this school at 2nd level, the gold and time you must spend to copy a temporal spell into your spellbook is halved.

Temporal Points

Starting at 2nd level, you gain access to temporal points, which you can spend to acquire benefits. You receive 2 temporal points at 2nd level, and you gain 1 additional point every time you gain a level, to a maximum of 20 points at 20th level. You regain all spent temporal points when you finish a long rest. You can spend 1 temporal point as a reaction or a bonus action on your turn to gain one of the following effects for 1 round:

  • You can use a bonus action on your next turn to take the Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
  • Your Armor Class increases by 2.
  • You have advantage on the next Dexterity check you make.

Optionally, you can spend 2 temporal points as a bonus action on your turn to grant a creature you touch one of the listed effects for 1 round.

Extended Magic

Beginning at 6th level, when you cast a spell whose duration is 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 temporal point to double the spell’s duration, to a maximum of 24 hours.


At 10th level, you add the haste spell to your spellbook, if you don’t have it already. From now on, you never suffer the negative aftereffects of the haste spell and can act normally when the spell ends.

Also, you can cast haste on yourself without expending a spell slot. Once you cast haste in this way, you can’t do so again until you finish a short or long rest. You can still cast it normally using an available spell slot.

Time Mastery

Starting at 14th level, you can choose to ignore the effect of a temporal spell that would otherwise affect you. For instance, you can exempt yourself from the effect of a slow spell cast in the area you occupy. Or, if you would be affected by a quick time spell, you can choose to automatically succeed on the saving throw.

Also, you can spend temporal points in the following ways.

  • When you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 temporal points to change the casting time for this casting to 1 bonus action.
  • When you must make a saving throw against a temporal spell, you can spend 2 temporal points to succeed on the saving throw automatically. You can make the decision to spend the points after rolling the d20 and seeing the result.
  • As a reaction when another creature casts time stop, you can spend 5 temporal points to gain the ability to act during the spell’s duration. You and the spell’s caster alternate taking turns, with the caster acting first. You have the same restrictions as the caster. If the caster ends the spell, it ends for everyone; if you take an action that ends the spell, it ends only for you, not for the caster.
Section 15: Copyright Notice

Deep Magic for 5th Edition © 2020 Open Design LLC; Authors: Dan Dillon, Chris Harris, and Jeff Lee.