Way of Mercy

Monks who pursue the Way of Mercy believe the ability to heal others is the pinnacle of spiritual and physical enlightenment. The discipline required of this monastic tradition is severe, for balancing the ability to do harm with the desire to heal is often a difficult path. Most who follow the Way of Mercy are pacifists by nature, preferring to placate, disarm, or perhaps subdue opponents seeking physical confrontation, rather than harm or kill them.

Two orders of monks in particular follow this tradition. The more common of the two is the holy Order of the Dawn Spear. For Dawn Spear adepts, the warmth and grace of the First Angel, Madriel the Redeemer, is a path toward personal perfection. Wielding their goddess’s favored weapon, the spear, they wander, defending those who cannot defend themselves and restoring the sick and wounded to health. It is through this selflessness, they feel, that Madriel will grant them true enlightenment.

Healing Discipline

Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you learn magical healing disciplines based on your understanding of the unity of mind, body, and spirit. These disciplines require you to spend ki points each time you use them.

Casting Healing Spells. To cast any of these healing spells, you use standard spellcasting rules, with Wisdom as your spellcasting modifier, but you don’t need to provide material or verbal components.

Once you reach 5th level in this class, you can spend additional ki points to increase the level of a Healing Discipline spell that you cast, provided that the spell has an enhanced effect when cast at a higher level, as cure wounds does. The spell’s level increases by 1 for each additional ki point you spend. The maximum number of ki points you can spend to cast a spell this way (including its base cost plus any additional ki points) is determined by your monk level, as shown on the table below.

Spell And Ki Points
Monk Level Maximum Ki Points
5th-8th 3
9th-12th 4
13th-16th 5
17th-20th 6

Healing Discipline: Merciful Touch

When you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can spend 2 ki points to cast cure wounds, gentle repose, or lesser restoration. Additionally, you learn the spare the dying cantrip.

Way of the Merciful Hand

Starting at 6th level, you can manipulate your enemy’s ki. Whenever you hit a creature with one of the attacks granted by your Flurry of Blows, you can impose one of the following effects on that target:

  • It must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or be knocked prone.
  • It must make a Strength saving throw. If it fails, you can push it up to 15 feet away from you.
  • It can’t take reactions until the end of your next turn.

Healing Discipline: Touch of Spirit

Starting at 11th level, you may remove curses and restore the flow of ki to a fallen creature. You can spend 3 ki points to cast remove curse or revivify.

Healing Discipline: Restorative Touch

Beginning at 17th level, you can spend 5 ki points to cast greater restoration or spend 7 ki points to cast heal with a range of touch.

Phoenix Spirit

Also at 17th level, you have advantage on saving throws against any spell or effect that would kill you instantaneously without dealing damage, including death saving throws.

In addition, when you are unconscious, you can spend 6 ki points to cast revivify on yourself (no action required). You can’t use this feature again until you finish a long rest.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Scarred Lands Player’s Guide © 2016 Onyx Path Publishing Authors: Bill Ashbless, Jason Bolte, Chris Cowger, Adam Eichelberger, Alain Giorla, Nathan Knaack, Chris Sims, Eddy Webb